InVideo alternatives: six tools matched to the reasons people quit
The best InVideo alternative depends on why you are leaving. For the same script-to-stock-video workflow with a 14-day trial, pick Pictory ($29 a month). For hands-on editing with cheap generative clips, CapCut (Seedance 2.5 from $0.12 a second). For avatars, HeyGen or Synthesia. Prices are from vendor pages, 5 Nov 2026.
Key facts
| invideo plans outside the US (5 Nov 2026) | Basic $9 a month for 190 credits, Pro $30 for 1,000, Ultra $80 for 3,000; annual Pro $15 and Ultra $40 a month[1] |
|---|---|
| invideo refunds | A plan counts as used if anything was generated or downloaded in the billing period, and a used plan cannot get a refund[2] |
| invideo on Trustpilot | 2.9 from 910 reviews, 30% one-star (checked 5 Nov 2026)[5] |
| Pictory Starter | $29 a month ($25 billed yearly), 2,000 credits, about 30 minutes, 1080p, no watermark; 14-day trial with 3 watermarked 720p videos[8] |
| CapCut Pro generative video | Seedance 2.5 from $0.12 a second, so $0.60 for 5 seconds[9] |
| HeyGen credit rollover | Monthly credits roll over one month; annual credits build up until renewal[13] |
InVideo AI turns one prompt into a finished video with stock footage, voiceover and captions. People leave it for four reasons: credits vanish on agent runs, a used plan cannot be refunded, output quality has slipped for some long-time users, and there is no clear way to judge output before paying. Each tool below fixes at least one of those. Prices are from each vendor's page, read on 5 November 2026.
InVideo alternatives at a glance
Pictory is the closest like-for-like swap; CapCut, Fliki and Kapwing suit people who want more control or a free tier; HeyGen and Synthesia suit avatar and training videos.
| Tool | Best for | Cheapest paid plan | Free tier | Watermark on free | Max export | API |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pictory | Script or URL to stock-footage video | $29/mo, 2,000 credits | 14-day trial, 3 videos | Yes | 1080p, 30-min videos | Separate API plans |
| CapCut | Editing yourself, cheap generated clips | Pro (local pricing) | 7-day Pro trial, no card (availability varies) | Not stated | Not stated | Not listed |
| Fliki | Published per-second credit rates | Standard (about $28/mo, third-party) | 3 credits a month | Yes | 1080p, 15-min videos | Premium plan |
| HeyGen | Avatars, credits that roll over | Creator $29/mo, 600 credits | 3 videos a month, 1 min each | Yes | Up to 4K on Pro | Separate API pricing |
| Synthesia | Training and explainer avatars | Starter $19/mo, 1,250 credits | 10 minutes | Yes | 1080p | Yes, limited minutes |
| Kapwing | Free editor with unlimited exports | Pro $16/mo, 1,000 credits | 10 lifetime credits | Yes | 4K, 120-min exports | No (MCP only) |
Pictory, HeyGen, Synthesia and Kapwing publish these figures on their pricing pages. Fliki's page shows allowances but not prices, so its $28 Standard price comes from AI Productivity, a third-party guide. CapCut showed only local-currency prices from our location, with USD per-second rates for generative video.
Why do people leave InVideo AI?
Credit drain is the top complaint. invideo's Trustpilot page shows a 2.9 score from 910 reviews, 30% of them one-star, and about 30 of the 40 newest reviews (30 August to 3 November 2026) give one star.
- Credits burn before a usable video exists. One Starter user wrote on 5 October 2026 that 94% of the month's credits were gone within 15 minutes with no video. A Plus user said on 9 October that 2,000 credits went on two short videos.
- Paying credits for retries and fixes. A reviewer on 18 October said invideo charges "credits for their mistakes". Another reported an automatic $411 credit top-up during a render loop (9 October).
- Quality slipped for long-time users. A multi-year user wrote on 25 October that output "became progressively worse".
- No refund once you have tried it. invideo's refund rules say a plan counts as used if anything was generated or downloaded, and a used plan cannot be refunded. Unused credits do not roll over, and invideo reserves the right to change credit costs without notice.
Which InVideo alternative fixes which problem?
Match the tool to the reason you are leaving; no single tool fixes all four.
| If you are leaving because of | Pick | Why it helps |
|---|---|---|
| Credit drain on agent runs | Fliki or CapCut | Both publish a per-second rate, so you know the cost before you generate |
| Paying again to fix the AI's mistakes | CapCut or Kapwing | You edit the timeline yourself instead of re-prompting an agent |
| Falling quality on stock-footage videos | Pictory | Getty and Storyblocks footage on all plans, priced by video minutes |
| No refund after trying | Pictory trial, Fliki free tier | See real output before the first charge |
| Credits expiring every month | HeyGen | Monthly credits roll over one month; annual credits build up until renewal |
What does InVideo cost now?
invideo shows different plans in different countries. From outside the US on 5 November 2026, invideo's pricing page listed Basic at $9 a month for 190 credits, Pro at $30 for 1,000 and Ultra at $80 for 3,000, with annual Pro at $15 and Ultra at $40 a month.
US visitors see a different grid. UsagePricing's first US capture, logged in November 2026, lists Starter at $20 a month ($10 billed yearly), Plus at $60 ($30) and Max at $250 per seat. invideo moved from individual plans to per-seat plans on 20 September 2026, per the same tracker. A Trustpilot reviewer's "Plus plan ($60 a month), 2000 credits" matches the US grid.
The pricing page estimates a 5-second 720p Seedance 2.5 clip at about 56 credits, 17 clips a month on Pro. At $30 for 1,000 credits that is $1.68 a clip; on Ultra at $80 for 3,000 it is $1.49.
Pictory: the closest swap for script-to-video
Pictory turns a script, blog URL or long video into a stock-footage video with voiceover, the same job InVideo does. Starter costs $29 a month, or $25 billed yearly, for 2,000 credits, about 30 minutes of video at 1080p with no watermark.
- Better than InVideo for: trying first. The 14-day trial gives 300 credits and 3 videos at 720p, watermarked. Getty and Storyblocks stock is on every plan.
- Generated clips: Pictory lists rates of 10 to 40 credits a second. At $0.0145 a credit on Starter, a 15-credit clip costs $1.09 for 5 seconds and a 40-credit clip $2.90.
- What you give up: refunds. Pictory says it does not offer refunds on paid subscriptions.
- Pick it if you run a faceless channel or repurpose blog posts and want InVideo's workflow with a trial first.
CapCut: edit it yourself and pay per generated second
CapCut is a full video editor with generative video inside, so you fix a bad shot on the timeline instead of paying an agent to redo the video. On CapCut Pro, Seedance 2.5 starts at $0.12 a second, $0.60 for 5 seconds, and Seedance 2.0 Mini at 480p from $0.007 a second.
- Better than InVideo for: cost control and fixes. Pro includes up to 240 seconds a month of 720p Seedance 2.0 Mini.
- What you give up: the one-prompt agent. You write, cut and time the video yourself.
- Pick it if you can edit and want generated shots at the lowest published rate on this list. Our Seedance pricing guide compares other Seedance routes.
Fliki: published credit rates and a free tier
Fliki turns scripts into voiced videos and prints how many credits each model uses per second. Its credits guide, dated 3 November 2026, lists Seedance Pro Fast at 720p at 0.15 credits a second, Kling 4.0 at 2 and Veo 3.1 Fast at 3.
- Free tier: 3 credits a month, 720p, Fliki watermark, 5-minute exports.
- Paid: Standard has 180 credits a month, 1080p, 15-minute videos and commercial rights. At the third-party price of $28, a credit costs about $0.16, so 5 seconds of Seedance Pro Fast is about $0.12 and 5 seconds of Kling 4.0 about $1.56.
- What you give up: stock depth and agent automation.
- Pick it if surprise credit burn is why you are leaving.
HeyGen and Synthesia: avatars without monthly credit loss
HeyGen and Synthesia build videos around a talking presenter, which suits explainers, training and sales videos better than stock footage.
HeyGen is the only tool here whose plan credits roll over: monthly credits last one extra month, and annual credits build up until renewal. Free gives 3 one-minute videos a month with a watermark. Creator costs $29 a month ($24 billed yearly) for 600 credits and 30-minute videos. Pro at $49 adds 4K and access to Seedance 2.5 and Veo 3.1.
Synthesia has a free 10-minute tier with a watermark. Starter costs $19 a month, or $14 billed yearly, for 1,250 credits, about 12 minutes at 1080p. At about 100 credits per finished minute, a minute of avatar video costs about $1.52 on monthly Starter. Bought credits last 12 months; plan credits reset.
Kapwing: a free editor with unlimited watermarked exports
Kapwing is a browser editor where free exports are unlimited but watermarked at 720p, with 10 lifetime AI credits. Pro costs $16 a month for 1,000 credits, with 4K and 120-minute exports. An AI-generated video uses 20 or more credits, so at least $0.32 each on Pro.
Pick Kapwing if you mostly cut, caption and resize, and only sometimes generate.
What do you lose when you leave InVideo?
You lose the agent that writes, voices and cuts a whole video from one prompt, and invideo's commercial-use terms, which let you use generated media commercially worldwide with no royalty.
Before you cancel, spend your credits. invideo's credits page says that on a downgrade or cancellation, unused credits expire at the end of the cycle, and extra credits end with the plan. Annual plans give monthly allowances, so a yearly plan does not bank credits either.
Which InVideo alternative should you choose?
Choose by the job you used InVideo for.
- Faceless YouTube or blog-to-video: Pictory. Same workflow, trial first. If you plan to monetise, read what YouTube allows for AI videos.
- Short clips you edit yourself: CapCut, with generated shots from $0.12 a second.
- Predictable costs: Fliki, with per-second rates in writing.
- Presenter videos: HeyGen for rollover credits, Synthesia for the cheapest entry.
- Cheapest generated footage overall: see our cheapest AI video generator ranking and price a month's mix in the AI video cost calculator.
- Stay on InVideo if you publish weekly, use most of your credits and want the agent to do the editing.
More app comparisons are in our apps and pricing guides.
Questions
Which is better, CapCut or InVideo?
CapCut is better if you want to edit the video yourself and pay per generated second: Seedance 2.5 on CapCut Pro starts at $0.12 a second. InVideo is better if you want an agent to write, cut and voice the whole video from one prompt and you accept credits that reset monthly.
Does InVideo AI have a free trial?
invideo's pricing page lists no free plan card, and its FAQ says cancelled accounts drop to a Free plan. If you want to see output before paying, Pictory's 14-day trial gives 3 videos and Fliki has a free-forever tier, both watermarked.
Is InVideo AI worth paying for?
It is worth it if you publish often and spend most of your credits each month, because unused credits don't roll over. On Pro, a 5-second 720p Seedance 2.5 clip costs about 56 credits, or $1.68 at the $30 monthly price. Light users get more from a trial-first tool.
Which AI video tool is free with no watermark?
None of the six tools on this list states a watermark-free free tier. Fliki, Kapwing, HeyGen and Synthesia all put a watermark on free exports, and Pictory's trial videos carry one. Paying removes it on every tool here.
Is there an InVideo alternative with refunds?
Not on this shortlist. Pictory says it does not offer refunds on paid subscriptions, and invideo refuses refunds once anything was generated or downloaded. Use the trials and free tiers to judge output before you subscribe.
Sources
- Pricing
- Refunds: how to request one and what's covered
- Credits
- Commercial use
- invideo AI reviews
- invideo AI: Basic and Pro annual cut (retracted 2 Nov 2026)
- invideo AI per-seat credit repackaging
- Pricing
- Pricing
- Credits guide
- Pricing
- Fliki pricing
- Pricing
- Pricing
- Pricing
- How do Kapwing credits work?
Related guides
- The cheapest AI video generator, ranked by price per second and qualityThe cheapest AI video generator in Nov 2026 is Grok Imagine Lite at $0.02 a second. See 15 models ranked by price per second next to their arena score.
- Seedance pricing: what a 5 and 10-second clip costs on every platformSeedance 2.0 costs $0.76 for 5 seconds at 720p on BytePlus. See 5s and 10s prices on Dreamina, Higgsfield and Runway, plus the input-video charge.
- AI video cost calculator: price per usable clip by modelWhat one usable AI video clip costs: Runway API rates for Kling, Veo, Wan and Seedance, plus retries, audio and reference-video billing. Checked 26 Oct 2026.
More on Apps and pricing
- Dreamina pricing: plans, free credits and what each Seedance clip costsDreamina Basic is $15 a month for 1,575 credits in the US, with 120 free credits a day. See what each plan buys in Seedance clips, from $0.24 per 5 seconds.
- Is PixVerse AI free? Daily credits, limits and what they makePixVerse AI is free with 60 starter credits and 30 a day, capped at 540p with a watermark. See what the credits make and when $8 Standard is worth it.
- Runway pricing: credits per second, and what a clip costsRunway pricing as of 26 Oct 2026: Gen-4.5 costs 12 credits a second, Aleph 2.0 28. See what each plan's credits buy and what a clip costs on each.
- Higgsfield alternatives: cheaper ways to reach the same modelsHiggsfield alternatives priced per clip: Runway's API beats Ultra on Seedance 2.0 below 86 clips a month at 720p. Break-even table and verdict by use case.
- Grok Imagine alternatives: where to make videos now that free Grok is on and offGrok Imagine's free video tier has been cut since March 2026. Seven alternatives with free tiers, prices per 10 seconds and which Grok problem each fixes.
- Is Viggle AI free? Daily credits, watermark and what paying addsViggle AI is free with daily credits, one render at a time and a watermark. See what free covers, Pro at $9.99 for 80 credits, and what a credit buys.
